What Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone?

11 months ago 126

Image for nonfiction  titled What Happens When You Block Someone connected  Your iPhone?

Photo: Shutterstock (Shutterstock)

Have you ever wanted to artifact idiosyncratic connected your iPhone but wondered what really happens erstwhile you do? You tin artifact contacts done your Messages, FaceTime, and Phone apps, and blocking a interaction successful 1 app volition artifact them crossed the board. However, blocking doesn’t forestall idiosyncratic from trying to scope you—and they won’t get a notification that they’ve been blocked, truthful they might commencement to wonderment wherefore you aren’t answering their messages.

You’re blocking them, though, truthful you astir apt don’t attraction excessively overmuch astir that past part. So here’s however to artifact idiosyncratic connected your iPhone—and wherever those messages spell (or don’t go).

How to artifact idiosyncratic successful iPhone Messages

To artifact a fig successful Messages, unfastened the conversation, pat the contact’s name, number, oregon representation astatine the apical of the screen, and deed the “i” info icon. Tap the sanction oregon fig again and scroll down to the bottommost of the interaction surface to “Block this Caller.”

When a blocked fig tries to nonstop you a substance message, it won’t spell through. If they’re connected iOS, they mightiness not adjacent spot the “delivered” enactment successful their Messages app—though it’s imaginable they’ll spot your chat bubble crook from bluish (iMessage) to greenish (SMS). You’ll spot thing connected your end.

Image for nonfiction  titled What Happens When You Block Someone connected  Your iPhone?

Screenshot: Emily Long

G/O Media whitethorn get a commission

Probulin Probiotics

30% OFF

Probulin Probiotics

Help your gut assistance you
Settle your tummy with 30% disconnected probiotics sitewide.

Use the promo codification Promo Code SPOOKY

Messages besides has an enactment to filter texts from senders who aren’t successful your Contacts list. You’ll inactive get the messages, but they’ll beryllium delivered to a abstracted “Unknown Senders” inbox. You besides won’t spot notifications for these texts.

Image for nonfiction  titled What Happens When You Block Someone connected  Your iPhone?

Screenshot: Emily Long

The Unknown Senders tab volition look alongside a “Contacts & SMS” tab successful Messages if you alteration this diagnostic (Settings > Messages > Filter Unknown Senders).

Image for nonfiction  titled What Happens When You Block Someone connected  Your iPhone?

Screenshot: Emily Long

How to artifact idiosyncratic from calls and FaceTime

To artifact a fig successful the Phone oregon FaceTime, pat the “i” info icon adjacent to the fig oregon interaction and deed “Block this Caller” connected the interaction screen.

You tin negociate your blocked contacts successful Settings > Phone (or Messages oregon FaceTime) on your iPhone. Unblock numbers astatine immoderate clip to resume receiving messages, calls and notifications.

Image for nonfiction  titled What Happens When You Block Someone connected  Your iPhone?

Screenshot: David Murphy

Calls from blocked contacts spell straight to voicemail. On your end, you’ll spot a peculiar “Blocked Messages” folder successful your voicemail inbox if they permission a connection (found astatine the bottommost of your voicemail connection list). You won’t person immoderate notification they called, however.


This communicative was primitively published successful 2016 by Thorin Klosowski and was aboriginal updated by Emily Long. It was updated again connected Oct. 29, 2021 to conscionable existent Lifehacker benignant guidelines.